Time they say flies fast and how true that assertion when exposed to the realities of life’s happenings. A person’s stage of progress is measured by time and time is the essence of life. What I remember to be only yesterday would in fact point to the reality of three years already.

Today, as I sat in my office plotting new strategies to attain maximum results for my students who in no time will be sitting for their final exams, I had a call from a fine girl who has become to me a daughter. She had phoned to inform me she had returned home after her three years stay at the Kumasi Girls Senior High School. She had finished with her West African Senior School Certificate Examination (WASSCE). I congratulated her but while doing so my mind travelled to my nostalgic experience I shared with these group of students at Broadwings International School and particularly with her.

In between time, I have seen two other batches leave and currently preparing to see off the third and my fifth students to write exams. But none come so close to my 2014 students, not in terms of performance but in terms of their human attributes and relationship. My personal attachment to them stem from the strong bond we shared. They were people of great spirits, enterprising and daring in all their undertaking. They provoked your anger to patience, constant mistakes in showing evidence of progress and improvement and loving by the unity of a common agenda. Long to see them and relive the experience we shared. I felt a sense of accomplishment knowing soon, one after the other they will call to inform me of their success and experience of school life. It was always my aspiration to inspire my students to set and achieve the best for their life. To many of them, school is just the beginning of the first step into a great and bright future.

The phone call also came with a protest. “Why was your phone off yesterday,” the seemingly unhappy voice of Emmanuella Boakye toned. I wondered why that voice.
“Me? Never, my phone was on,” I told her. “I called twice and was told your phone was off so I called Aunty Louisa,” she wanted to justify her stand. You may want to know who Aunty Louisa is but that goes to show the level of relationship that exist between El and myself which has gone from the student-headmaster to a father-daughter relationship. She is in fact my first adopted daughter of my school working experience. Despite the adversity she had had to go through from her final year in junior high to finishing her senior high, she had looked more positive to life. Her struggles had rather made her confident and daring. I must admit, I enjoy her presence and company. A vibrant young girl with brilliant and analytical mind and a potential for the future.

“I was calling so we celebrate my finishing the paper but did not get you. I was annoyed with you that you missed my happy moment. I called the moment I finished with the paper so I called Aunty Louisa to inform her,” in her usual assertive and confidence voice. I knew what the period met to her. She had stayed in touch throughout the exams and wanted me to be there for the shouting and the expression of joy.
Am so happy for this guys and their passing out brings me great fulfilment. Fulfilment in the sense that while being grateful to God for their progress, it goes to show also the progress I have made and achieved in them. They were in actual sense my biggest lesson of top level leadership practice. The process of shaping and grooming them then for tomorrow’s national assignments would see the shaping of my personality as well. I was faced with the enormous challenge  of not only meeting the academic needs of these students but also the expectations of parents in seeing to the holistic development of their children spiritually, emotionally and socially. More importantly was ensuring a class of students well disciplined to achieve their ambition in life.
“The future must be seen in terms of what a person can do to contribute something, to make something better, to make it go where he believes with all his being it ought to go.” – Frederick R. Kappel.

I had always told them my inspiration in staying in education over chasing after my studied profession was so much to do after their tomorrow. I think my national service to my nation is to help raise students who can contribute to the socioeconomic and political development of our nation.

Congratulations guys but this is just a reminder of the next stage of the academic ladder climb. They were not just students in my class but they had become a part of my heart. Today, they have passed out, tomorrow they would also be the teachers to nurture others also into that role.

Understanding my antecedent in education, I am into teaching because I feel like giving back to others what others gave me some years back not considering the tedious process of shaping a child’s life and positioning them to be useful citizens tomorrow.
Everyday, I feel a strong sense of responsibility entrusted upon my shoulders by the nation in preparing tomorrow’s leaders today. I am very grateful because I see myself as occupying a very sensitive position in the lives of these children in shaping what our nation will be like tomorrow in my own small way.
Welcome home El and wish you the best in your academic and life endeavours as well as your friends.
As I promise to honour your leaving senior high school with my marriage so in God’s time has He fulfilled this heart desire and promise to you.

Come join me let us plan for my big day. I remember how you used to be worried upon hearing my break up with Aunty Mercy. You sought to be a mediator to bring us together. Anytime you called, it was about her to see if she was back. I guess you know am happy to have you home. Enjoy the rest till is time to chase up the dream again.

