President John Dramani Mahama has said he will respect the will of Ghanaians as manifested in the general elections.
The president made this known in his concession speech to his party supporters and the nation shortly after the Chairperson of the Electoral Commissioner, Charlotte Osei had declared the flagbearer of the New Patriotic Party, Nana Akufu-Addo as winner of the presidential election.

The president standing for his second term, polled  4,713,277 million votes representing 44.40 % as compared to the 5, 716,026 million votes representing 53.85 % secured by Nana Akufo Addo.

“This is not the outcome we waited for,” he said.

President Mahama also said history will judge his contributions while serving in the highest office.

“It has been without a doubt, one of the most tremendous privileges of my life to serve this great nation as President and to work on behalf of all Ghanaians. I will leave it to history to be the judge of my time and contributions while in that highest office,” he said.

“As President, I have done my bit and made a contribution to the political social and economic development of our country. I would have cherished an opportunity to even do more but I respect the will of the Ghanaian people,” he added.

The president promised to ensure a smooth transfer of power. “I wish to congratulate the President Elect. I will like to assure the people of Ghana of my commitment to the sustenance of our country’s democracy and we will work to ensure a smooth transition of our incoming administration. I remain committed to the unity and stability of our great nation.” he said.

He thanked all Ghanaians, those who voted for him and those who didn’t and urged all come together and hold the peace and stability of the country.

He was full of gratitude to his vice-president Paa Kwasi Amissa Arthur, his wife, government officials and campaign team.

Source: Keith Eubulus

